Hello from Hong Kong

Please introduce yourself
jaman

Hello from Hong Kong

Post by jaman »

Hi all,

I was born in Tokyo and am half-Japanese but I left after a year and grew up in Australia. I am slowly inching my way back, presently living in the Hong Kong “countryside” after a stint in Singapore.

Since I write software for a living, for practical (i.e. job) reasons I tend to be browsing for interesting housing around tokyo or fukuoka. That said, with 2 boys (nearing primary age), 2 dogs, 2 cats, and a turtle, whether a move ever happens is very much up in the air.

In any case, I’m glad to have found this forum and enjoy browsing the wealth of knowledge available.

Cheers

Zasso Nouka
Tech Support
Tech Support

Hello from Hong Kong

Post by Zasso Nouka »

Hi Jaman and welcome to Japan Simple Life, we really do appreciate you taking the time to sign up.

I was staggered to discover Hong Kong actually has countryside, I kind of thought it was all one huge mega city but apparently that isn't the case and there is still mountains and forest existing there and it looks quite nice.

I also come from an IT background, Cisco System certified CCSP (now a CCNP, I think) but have since downscaled to farming and also brought over pets from the UK (3 cats). Moving with animals isn't particularly hard, you just need to get them vaccinated before travel although not sure about procedures for a turtle but cats and dogs are pretty straightforward.

If you are wanting to do remote work then you are in luck as high speed fibre optic cables seem to be pretty ubiquitous and even our little village has 2Gbps connectivity, plus with the current covid situation some municipalities seem to be grasping the concept that they can regenerate through encouraging remote workers to settle in their communities and are offering some attractive opportunities.

jaman

Hello from Hong Kong

Post by jaman »